Preface

Markus Reuter1, Antoinette van Schaik2

1Prof. Markus A. Reuter (D.Eng., PhD, Dr.habil., FIEAust, Pr.Eng(ZA)
Director – Technology Management, Outotec, Espoo, Finland
Adjunct Professor Aalto University Helsinki
Professorial Fellow University of Melbourne, Australia

2Dr.ir. Antoinette van Schaik
Owner/director MARAS – Material Recycling and Sustainability – Den Haag, The Netherlands

Materials and metals are essential and critical components of today’s society: a moment’s reflection on their ubiquitous presence in virtually all energy and material production processes is enough to confirm this. Metals play a key role in Enabling Sustainability through societies various high-tech applications. However, the resources of our planet are limited, as is the strain to which we can subject it in terms of emissions, pollution, and disposal of waste. For these reasons, finding ways to lower the environmental footprint of our collective existence and therefore lowering greenhouse gas emissions and help mitigate climate change is a vital priority. The maximization of resource efficiency through optimal recycling of metals, materials and products is essential to this and has been identified as one of the pillars on which to build a Resource Efficient Europe.

To systemically fully understand resource efficiency in the context of material use and ensure maximum recovery of elements, metals and compounds from waste streams (e.g. E-waste) it is crucial to adopt a Product-Centric1,2, recycling perspective to recycling and policy (Figure 1). This contrasts with a generally applied and easier to understand Material (& Metal)-Centric approach (which focuses more on bulk materials) therefore inherently limits especially the maximal recovery of technologically critical elements. A Product-Centric approach considers how to increase the recycling of a product (for example a LCD screen, mobile phone, etc.) in its entirety and necessarily involves consideration of what will happen to the many different materials within the product.

Figure 1 shows all the actors and aspects that have to be understood in depth in a Product-Centric systemic and physics based manner in order to optimize resource efficiency. At heart of all this lies a keen understanding of the physics of separation, thermodynamics and metallurgy within a BAT techno-economical process infrastructure to be able to innovate and optimize product design (if that is at all necessary and possible due to functionality reasons) and increase the recovery of materials and metals through collection, sorting and recycling3. This implies that to get the best results out of recycling, all actors in the recycling system (e.g. in design, collection, hand-sorting, processing, policy) need to take into account what is happening in the other parts of the system. The depth of knowledge for a Product Centric approach is the basis when performing environmental analyses of End-of-Life product systems (LCA), therefore also the basis for Eco design.

Maximizing resource efficiency and therefore Design for Resource Efficiency (DfRE) considers and embraces Product Centric recycling in its totality through the use of deep process, system and economic simulation models exploring physics based opportunities, while highlighting systemic and technological limitations of recycling. Various rigorous design and simulation modelling techniques and tools exist to help with this. This deep understanding drives innovation while levelling the playing field to physics and economics in recycling.

This website elaborates on some design and simulation techniques. It discusses regulation, policy incentives, eco labelling as well as data required for Eco design for different examples of E-waste products. The website especially focuses on the Eco design aspect of DfRE.

Figure 1 : Design for Resource Efficiency (DfRE) – Optimally linking mining, minerals processing, primary and secondary extractive metallurgy, energy recovery, OEMs & product design, end-of-life mixture, recyclates, residues, wastes; while minimizing resource losses. The Metal-Wheel shows the destination of various elements, which among others is the basis of rigorous systems DfRE tools, while also reflecting a complete metallurgical processing sector in each carrier metal section.

1 M.A. Reuter and A. van Schaik (2012): Opportunities and Limits of recycling – A Dynamic-Model-Based Analysis, MRS Bulletin, 37(4), pp. 339-347.
2 M.A. Reuter and A. van Schaik (2012). Opportunities and Limits of WEEE Recycling – Recommendations to Product Design from a Recyclers Perspective. In: Proceedings of Electronics Goes Green 2012+, 9-12 September 2012, Berlin, Germany. In press. 8 p.
3 M.A. Reuter (2011): Recycling of End-of-Life products and materials, with a focus on product design: A review, Waste and Biomass Valorisation, 2, pp. 183-208.

Updated on November 27, 2016

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Add A Comment

Préface

Par Markus Reuter, Antoinette van Schaik

 

Prof. Markus A. Reuter (D.Eng., PhD, Dr.habil., FIEAust, Pr.Eng(ZA) :
Director – Technology Management, Outotec, Espoo, Finland
Adjunct Professor Aalto University Helsinki
Professorial Fellow University of Melbourne, Australia

Dr.ir. Antoinette van Schaik :
Owner/director MARAS – Material Recycling and Sustainability – Den Haag, The Netherlands

Les matériaux et les métaux sont des éléments essentiels et critiques de la société d’aujourd’hui: un moment de réflexion sur leur omniprésence dans quasi-totalité des processus de production d’énergie et de matière est suffisante pour confirmer cette hypothèse. Les métaux jouent un rôle clé en permettant le développement durable des sociétés par le biais de diverses applications high-tech. Cependant, les ressources de notre planète sont limitées, tout comme c’est le cas pour ce que nous pouvons nous permettre de lui soumettre en termes d’émissions, de pollution et d’élimination des déchets. Pour ces raisons, trouver des façons de réduire l’empreinte environnementale de notre existence collective, et donc de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et permettre d’atténuer le changement climatique est une priorité vitale. La maximisation de l’efficacité des ressources par un recyclage optimal des métaux, des matériaux et des produits est essentielle, cela et a été identifié comme l’un des piliers pour la construction d’une Europe efficace en ressource.

Pour bien toujours comprendre l’efficacité des ressources dans le contexte de l’utilisation des matériaux et pour assurer une récupération maximale des éléments, métaux et composants issus des flux de déchets (par exemple les e-déchets), il est essentiel d’adopter une démarche de recyclage Centrée-Produit1, 2, d’un point de vue du recyclage et de la politique associée (Figure 1). Cela contraste avec l’approche Centrée – Matériau (& Métal) plus simple qui est généralement appliquée (qui se concentre davantage sur les matériaux bruts) donc intrinsèquement limité en particulier pour larécupération maximale des éléments technologiquement critiques. Une approche produit-centrée considère la façon d’augmenter le recyclage d’un produit (par exemple un écran LCD, téléphone mobile, etc) dans son intégralité et implique nécessairement de réfléchir à ce que deviendront les nombreux matériaux différents du produit.

La figure 1 montre l’ensemble des acteurs et des aspects qui doivent être impliqués de manière importante dans une méthode systématique et physique centré-produit afin d’optimiser l’efficacité des ressources. Au cœur de tout cela réside une bonne compréhension de la physique de la séparation, la thermodynamique et de la métallurgie avec l’utilisation de procédés utilisant les meilleurs techniques disponibles (technico-économiques) MTD pour être en mesure d’innover et d’optimiser la conception du produit (si possible et si nécessaire pour des raisons de fonctionnalités) et accroître la récupération des matériaux et des métaux grâce à la collecte, au tri et au recyclage3. Cela implique que pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats de recyclage, tous les acteurs de la filière de recyclage (par exemple dans la conception, la collecte, le tri manuel, le traitement, la politique) doivent prendre en compte ce qui se passe dans les autres parties du système. Des connaissances approfondies lors d’une approche centrée sur le produit sont nécessaires lors de la réalisation des analyses environnementales des filières de produits en fin de vie (ACV), mais également pour l’éco-conception.

Maximiser l’efficacité des ressources et donc la conception pour l’efficacité des ressources (DfRE) examine et aborde le recyclage Orienté-Produit dans sa totalité grâce à l’utilisation au travers d’une réflexion approfondie, de l’utilisation de modèles de simulation économiques et de simulation des systèmes permettant d’évaluer toutes les possibilités physiques, tout en soulignant les limites systémiques et technologiques du recyclage. A cet égard, il existe diverses techniques formelles de conception et de simulation pour y parvenir. Cette compréhension approfondie stimule l’innovation tout en combinant les contraintes physiques et économiques du recyclage.

Ce site développe des techniques de conception et de simulation. Il aborde la réglementation, les incitations politiques, l’étiquetage environnemental ainsi que les données requises pour l’éco-conception pour différents exemples d’e-déchets produits. Le site se concentre surtout sur l’aspect éco-conception de la conception pour l’efficacité des ressources (en anglais – DfRE).

Figure 1: Conception pour l’efficacité des ressources (DfRE) – Reliant idéalement l’exploitation minière, la transformation des minéraux, la métallurgie extractive primaire et secondaire, la récupération d’énergie, les intégrateurs et concepteurs de produits, le gisement en fin de vie, les matériaux recyclés, les résidus et les déchets; tout en minimisant les pertes de ressources. La roue des métaux indique la destination des différents éléments, qui, entre autres sont à la base de méthodes utilisées par les outils de DfRE, tout en présentant l’ensemble du processus de production du secteur de la métallurgie.

1 M.A. Reuter and A. van Schaik (2012) : Opportunities and Limits of recycling – A Dynamic-Model-Based Analysis, MRS Bulletin, 37(4), pp. 339-347.en anglais
2 M.A. Reuter and A. van Schaik (2012). Opportunities and Limits of WEEE Recycling – Recommendations to Product Design from a Recyclers Perspective. In: Proceedings of Electronics Goes Green 2012+, 9-12 September 2012, Berlin, Germany. In press. 8 p. – en anglais
3 M.A. Reuter (2011): Recycling of End-of-Life products and materials, with a focus on product design: A review, Waste and Biomass Valorisation, 2, pp. 183-208. – en anglais

Mis à jour le janvier 30, 2017

Cet article vous a-t-il été utile?

Ressources similaires

Ajoutez un commentaire